Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeEducationBookTok Picks of The Week: What to Read Next?

BookTok Picks of The Week: What to Read Next?

BookTok has become an authority and major influencer in the way readers find and pick their next favorite book. This week we bring you three reads that have smashed it on BookTok lately as reported on the WHT News Culture feed.

BookTok Picks This Week“Love Letter to Whiskey” by Kandi Steiner

“Love Letter to Whiskey” by Kandi Steiner dives deeply into the tumultuous and intoxicating relationship between B and Jamie. This novel is praised for its raw and realistic portrayal of how love can evolve into an addiction. The story parallels the irresistible but often destructive allure of whiskey. Steiner’s writing is emotionally charged, weaving a narrative that captures the sweetness and the burn of a love that’s both passionate and flawed. Readers looking for a heart-wrenching love story that explores the complexities of heartbreak and healing will find it a compelling read.

“Credence” by Penelope Douglas

“Credence” by Penelope Douglas is a bold and provocative novel that isn’t afraid to venture into dark themes. The story centers on Tiernan, who, after the death of her parents, moves to the remote mountains of Colorado to live with her step-uncle and his two sons. What unfolds is a complex narrative of survival, consent, and power dynamics, set against a stark, isolating backdrop. Douglas crafts a gripping tale that challenges the boundaries of traditional relationships and explores the nuances of autonomy and desire. This book is recommended for readers who appreciate dark romances that push emotional limits.

“Forget Me Not” by Julie Soto

“Forget Me Not” by Julie Soto is a touching tale about second chances at love and the power of memory. The novel follows Lucy as she deals with the aftermath of a severe accident. She’s left with amnesia, struggling to piece together her past and rediscover her relationship with her fiancé, Jack. Soto beautifully captures the fragility of memory and the enduring strength of love, making it a poignant read for those who enjoy romance novels that are both sweet and sorrowful. The story is well-crafted, offering readers a blend of tender moments and realistic challenges that test the couple’s bond.

BookTok Makes Books Fashionable Again

BookTok is all about bringing book lovers together on TikTok to geek out over their latest reads. It’s a super chill spot where folks create fun videos—think everything from snappy book reviews and teary reactions to artsy shelf displays. It’s this awesome mix of showing off what you’re reading with a cool community vibe. Everyone from casual readers to hardcore bibliophiles can find their niche here, sharing their love for stories and maybe even discovering their next favorite book.

The platform has given a new lease of life to older titles as well. Books like “The Song of Achilles” and “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” becoming bestsellers years after their initial release, thanks to their viral status on BookTok​​. Moreover, BookTok has proven beneficial not just in increasing sales but in building a community. Elizabeth Black mentions that BookTok serves as a good, safe space to enjoy storytelling and connect with others who share similar interests. This can be particularly comforting for those who feel isolated in their reading habits​​.

For more BookTok recommendations, keep track of the WHT News Culture feed.

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

CATEGORY